Latest News

  • Daily Mail
  • Incorrect Sandown photo-finish call sees bookies pay out twice on Rio Ronaldo and Vibrant Chords

Source: Daily Mail
Rate: 5 5

See the news Incorrect Sandown photo-finish call sees bookies pay out twice on Rio Ronaldo and Vibrant Chords from Source Daily Mail on 12/02/2019 has been updated to day with the theme on feedixo.

Incorrect Sandown photo-finish call sees bookies pay out twice on Rio Ronaldo and Vibrant Chords

Confusion surrounding the wrong result of a Sandown photo-finish initially being called on Friday left bookmakers having to pay out twice on the result of the race.Judge Felix Wheeler at first announced that 13-2 shot Rio Ronaldo was the winner by a nose before revising his verdict that 6-1 chance Vibrant Chords had passed the post first in the opening five-furlong London Insurance Day Handicap.In revising the result revised before the official 'weigh-in' announcement had been called, the British Horseracing Authority hailed the incident as proof that a new system of checking a Judge's decision was working.An incorrect call on a photo-finish at Sandown left bookmakers paying out on two winnersBut correction of the initial announcement declaring Rio Ronaldo the winner came too late for some on course bookmakers who had already paid out.It also left off-course bookmakers in a difficult position with their customers having heard the first announcement.RELATED ARTICLESShare this articleShareWhile not duty bound to pay out, bookmakers headed by Coral, Betfair and Paddy Power, who pay out on 'first-past-the-post', all decided to pay out on both Rio Ronaldo and Vibrant Chords.Simon Clare of Ladbrokes-Coral said: 'The mistake made by the Judge at Sandown today in calling the wrong horse the winner put us in a really awkward position, as that incorrect result was communicated across all channels to our Ladbrokes and Coral customers, including clearly those that backed Rio Ronaldo.'Once the correction came through we took the decision to pay out on both results, which is clearly unattractive but in the interests of keeping our customers happy. We were effectively left with no choice given the situation we'd been presented with.'Paul Binfield, representing Paddy Power, added: 'We love giving punters a bit of value, but a day after congratulating the BHA on their non-runner policy it's hard for us to digest yet another error by a Judge which in the 21st century should not be occurring and ultimately costs us money.'Wheeler called the wrong result of a race in March at Kempton....

The news of the agency (Daily Mail) and site feedixo any responsibility in publishing it.

See the news Incorrect Sandown photo-finish call sees bookies pay out twice on Rio Ronaldo and Vibrant Chords from Source Daily Mail on 12/02/2019 has been updated to day with the theme on feedixo.